Windy Cyclone

29 Jun

Hi Orcom colleagues and other interested individuals! (who probably just wandered accidentally into this page. haha)
 Welcome to my first wordpress blog! I was originally a blogspot and livejournal user, yet using another platform for this “academic-slash-communication blog” is indeed refreshing.

And to start off, I need to dig deep on what happened June 20, 2008 Saturday, for our first meeting on our OC 152 class. I remember being late at that day, (blame the LRT not me!) and when I arrived, I learned that the class was currently talking about their bad experiences on their On-the-Job-Training last Summer. Honestly, I was expecting embarrasing stories of my classmates or atleast major blunders at work but all I heard were some conflicts here and there. Not much interesting that can be retold to others, but then again, we are the “most promising” batch after all, minimal mistakes should be expected. Or were they just too shy to tell some really bad experiences?

As for myself, I really cannot think of any bad experience that I can share in class. Sure, I have plenty of complaints in my OJT at ECC International, but I think I’m just being a bitch over little concerns like the delay for the release of my allowance and the lack of free coffee in our office. Looking back at these concerns, although I am entitled to whine about my delayed money because it was not given on time, I actually should be thankful that atleast I was given a 150php allowance per day (Im not ashamed of putting the small amount here because what the heck, it pays my commuting fare!).

Plus, my allowance per day was even increased when our manager asked me to extend my OJT for another two weeks because I am finishing a project together with my fellow OJT colleague from the Arrhneo. All in all, it was a nice learning experience for me.

After the sharing of bad experiences with our respective internship (or more like sharing-of-stories-about-our-annoying-OJT-colleagues) we discussed about what we would be doing for our OC152 class Communication Trends and Styles. We’ve already discussed some of the things in the syllabus like podcasting, wikis, blogs and social bookmarking but I saw some new things like Online Reputation Management which I think would be interesting since I’ve already read this topic somewhere in the web.

Our professor Sir Barry said that this subject would be “a breeze” considering that we daily encounter these things, yet when I look at our requirements, I had to stiffle a laugh about the windy thing because I’m having a premonition that this would be a cyclone. haha.

Not that I’m complaining though, because now I have the greatest excuse to immerse myself in the internet more without my parents complaining that I speak too much adoration towards our PC compared to my concern over the household chores. (well who wouldnt? who would say “i love the dishes because it has 40GB and has a fast processor plus a lovable video converter”).

I think I’ll just show my parents our OC152 syllabus then smile smugly and say “But Mom these social network sites are a vital part of who I am as a social individual in this cyber-dependent generation plus I need to ~understand and appreciate the trends and issues in the communication evolution from traditional media to new social media~” *insert evil laugh here*

After the discussion of the syllabus, we read an article about advertising, asked to do a concept map about it then dispersed into small designated groups. The activity consisted of writing in the front paper, based on the article how the advertisers use different channels to reach their target audience while the back contains the advertising channels that we are exposed in.

This activity made me thought of the proper way in choosing the proper channel in advertising and knowing where the real audience of the brand or product lies. Like my groupmates, we discussed that there were really a lot of companies who advertise at the wrong places, not really focusing on where their target consumers usually go to. Like the billboards that we usually see towering above our heads in EDSA. These ads do attract attention but the proper target audiences were neglected. An example of these are the popular brand of clothes for teenagers where the billboards could be seen everywhere. Yet I look at my own concept map, and I see that the channels I am mostly exposed is the internet, not exactly the place these clothing brands try to atleast demand for my attention.

After a lot of reflections and flashback, I think that i need to end this post, now satisfied that I satiated my thirst in senseless blabber about my OC152 class and other things concerning my wonderful world in Organizational Communication.

PS

Not really regarding communication yet I just want to list here the links that I wanted for this blog yet unfortunately they are already unavailable and some, well, really embarrasing yet really tempting

http://www.theintrovertspeaks.wordpress.com <–somebody owned it already. pftt.
http://www.itrytoshutup.wordpress.com <– cool neh? but unfortunately other person have already thought of shutting him/herself up already
http://www.viannethegreat.wordpress.com <– i think a lot of people are expecting this, but.. what can i say.. i can be shy at times..
http://www.viannetheintrovert.wordpress.com <– tempted to use this, but im afraid that this blog would be deemed not credible once i use this. haha!
http://www.viannesrepublic.wordpress.com <– im actually saving this when i run for candidacy as future prime minister of the country.
http://www.vianneandorcom.wordpress.com <– our advertising professor will kill me for even thinking about using this

One Response to “Windy Cyclone”

  1. barrycade June 29, 2009 at 10:26 am #

    no, the sem wouldn’t be a cyclone. far from it. really 😀

Leave a comment